the good for the great

good {adverb}; well

great {adverb}: excellently; very well

good isn’t bad, right? right…

we’re comfortable with good, right? we’re okay here. good isn’t risky. good doesn’t stretch us. good allows us to give and take a little when we see fit. good keeps us occupied enough to feel accomplished and needed, but not empty enough to feel defeated or heartbroken.

it’s safe. good is safe.

and good is where most stay their whole life. they never make it out of good.

Photo by: Destiny Sosa

a couple weeks ago, i had the privilege of listening to Chris Caine tape a new sermon series for TBN. as i sat there, she poked and prodded at this very thing. and i say poked and prodded in the very way their meant to be spoken – she applied pressure. not just to those who will watch those episodes, but to those of us in the room, and more specifically – to me. she spoke of the Israelites and how many of them didn’t want to eat of the fruit of Canaan, because they had become so used to the bread (manna) of the desert. So used to what was, that they couldn’t partake in what now will be.

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” – C.S. Lewis

she was affirming what God had been saying for months. the reason He dubbed this the year of ‘yes’ for me. no over-biblical, super spiritualized word – just ‘yes.’ because he was and is calling me to what i believe He’s calling many of you to, too.

out of the good. into the great.

and if two weeks ago wasn’t enough (because I’m stubborn and sometimes more slow to listen than slow to speak) this past weekend i got this word 3x in one weekend. within 48 hours God poked and prodded the same spot Chris had hit just a couple weeks ago, but this time – i saw it. i see it.

and today, after talking to a mentor at work, she challenged me by taking this poking and prodding a step further…

“if you don’t let go of the good, where will the great go? you’re too busy and too packed for great to fit. you’re going to be bored. but that just means you’ve allowed room for great to move in.”

and so all the poking and the prodding has brought me here – to this blog. to this moment in time, where my journal entry meets a blog with words and honest realizations that i just can’t keep to myself.

because what I’m seeing is worth sharing. and that is, good just doesn’t seem as safe as it was.

i’m actually at a place where good feels like it’s failing me, more than protecting me. inhibiting me more than it’s keeping me ‘safe.’ holding me back, more than keeping things out. good just doesn’t sound that good anymore.

and well, great. great seems attractive, exciting, and most of all…necessary.

i feel the need to stretch towards great. i feel the strength and the courage rising up in me to give up the good and more than that, be okay without either good OR great for a bit.

i’m ready for the great, but i also think the vetting process of separating the good from the not so God anymore was needed for me as well. and i think for you, too. we’re all growing and moving along in our journey and there are times when the vetting (the pruning) is needed so full growth and movement can happen.

without the vetting, we’d end up taking the wrong things with us in the move from good to great, ultimately killing the greatness that was meant to come.

so now, i’m re-evaluating many parts of my life and realizing that some things that were good, won’t make it to the great. and though it sort of hurts and its definitely uncomfortable to let those parts of me go, i know it’s needed.

because at the end of the day, they’re just good – and God’s calling me to great. and He’s doing the same for you, friends.

put down the bread, let’s eat some fruit, okay?

xoxo,

jess

a couple questions i’m asking myself in the vetting process…maybe they’ll help you too?

  1. What in my life is holding me back from the great? Is it good enough to co inhabit when great comes? If not, let it go. 
  2. Where in my life can I make room? 
  3. Why do I feel the need to stay stagnant in good? Is it fear? Is it worry? Identify that and pray against that emotion. Emotions should never be the drivers for our decisions. 
Leave a Reply

