Simplify to Exemplify

God is so patient with me. It really is astounding. He does His best to say the same things to me, in different ways. Not because He likes to hear Himself talk – nope. All because I’m stubborn and like most of the famous prophets and disciples of the bible – I need to know for sure it’s Him.

I need something to hold onto. Some sort of ‘proof,’ that the way He’s telling me to go – well, is in fact the way I should go.

Anyone relate?

View More: http://katiefaithphoto.pass.us/jessicaeditorial2This past Tuesday the Lord spoke the title of this blog to me. I knew it was Him, because I could never come up with something so profound – and yet, still have it rhyme. That is His talent alone.

I digress, it was from here that many thoughts have ensued. It wasn’t suprising what He was telling me, more frustrating actually.

You see, God has called me to do a handful of things. But the trouble I’m having lately is – which one is for now, later, and later later on? It’s so confusing. Trying to understand what’s a burden for this season – and what is one for tomorrow’s.

I’m trying to get it. And honestly, since June – I’ve been going back and forth on so many different levels on what to keep in my life, what to add, and what to get rid of. Not just things, or habits, or relationships – but thoughts, mindsets, and identity issues I thought I was completely healed of. It’s this process of sifting through everything in my past, present, and future and somehow trying to figure out where it all needs to go. Some defeintely needs to go, some needs some work, and 90% of it is in this mysterious pile of ‘unknown.’ (my least, LEAST, favorite pile….)

I’ve referred to most of this chaotic season on a high-level basis in one word in the past – adulting. But, honestly I don’t think that gives it the credit it deserves. That word is too surface.

Because many people are adulting. But few are transforming.

As Christians, we’ve been called to so much more than most times we even deem possible. It feels like a standard we’ll never meet. (Hello, Proverbs 31 anyone?) It’s sometimes overwhelming to think of all the characteristics, morals, and even standards we are called to come under. Yet, is it?

We are good at most of them. We really are. Now, have we fully surrendered them over to the Lord and allowed our performance to be out of what He did for us, rather than how good we are at all of the above – well, that is a topic for another blog. But really, most of us have grasped how to be good at them.

“There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work. Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.” 1 Corinthians 12:5-7

I told you. We all are called to be at least ‘commonly good’ the gifts, services, and workings – and each one of us has access to these through the Spirit.

But, have we grasped the ones He’s called us (individually) to be excellent at? If you read the rest of 1 Corinthians 12, you’ll see Paul goes through a list of specific spiritual gifts. It’s really eye-opening, you should read it. However, for the purpose of this blog – I’m going to get to the point.

Some of us are trying so hard to be excellent at everything, instead of accepting that we are only called to be commonly good at everything and excellent in few.

Otherwise known as – simplistic. Well, in my case at least.

Recently, a friend said – “you’re not good at being at home, are you?” Honestly, I was able to answer that question in a more “I’m in progress” way, than I could have responded 6 months ago. But basically, she was right. My life has always been busy. I have ‘excelled’ at it. Cool Jess, you get a gold ribbon – but where has it left me?

Less room for the things I think God wanted me to be excellent at.

So, to do something about it – I’m going to (hopefully as He desires) simplify my life. Less friend time, more Jesus time. Less dinner dates, more gym time. Less money spent, more stewardship opportunities gained. Less of stuff, more of what really matters. Less performance, more being. Less proving, more surrendering. Less, less, less…

I don’t want to be 35 and wishing I woulda, coulda, shoulda. I don’t want to be a woman known by how much I’ve done, but more so for who I am. And I think that is what God wants to.

Less of me, more of Him. Hmmm…sounds familiar, eh?

“He must become greater; I must become less.” John 3:30

  1. Is there something God is asking you to do or have less of, so He can make more room or give more of in?
  2. When you pray, how many things do you surrender, and how many things do you think you can handle on your own? (Don’t worry – I’ve been here.)
  3. Do you have a list of the priorities of this season? Make one. Don’t worry – I had to, too.
One thought on “Simplify to Exemplify

  1. Awesome, Jess! Thank you for sharing this wisdom. I can be that way, too, with having these things I feel called to do but not making enough time to sort them out. It’s like I’m substituting good things in place of the best thing. Living a life with a lot going on can be good, but sometimes slowing down to reprioritize is essential for following God’s will for our time.

Leave a Reply

