The Golden One – 27 on the 27th

“Life will never feel like it’s ‘supposed to…’ If we’re always trying to live like we’re ‘supposed to,’ we’re never going to actually live.”  – Paul Angone

Tomorrow I turn 27 on October 27th.

It’s my ‘Golden Birthday; and this month I’ve spent writing, praying, and praising the truly “Golden One” in my life. My heart truly desires to make His name known – no matter what it may cost. And going into my 27th year, a lot of heartache has happened. I’ve walked through the fire on many occasions and had to choose faith over fear in multiple situations.

But in all of this, what I choose to think on – and thank Him for, is not necessarily the times of fire, but of the redemption and refinement that came despite the fire.

When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.” – Isaiah 43:2

Through all of the deep pits and harsh fires, there is one truth less deep and profound and more blunt and honest – twenties are weird. Can I get an Amen? Each year I find myself saying this statement more and more, “I never thought I would be here.” And for me the list of “I never thoughts…” go on and on – what about you?

I never thought I would already have the career I have, nor be doing life in the single lane. I never thought I would still be in Texas or have a roommate. I never thought I would have gotten the chance to travel as much as I have, but I also thought I would be more of a roamer than a settler. I never thought I would have done nearly as much as I have, nor all that I still haven’t done.

And in all the “I never thoughts…,” what has become more and more clear is, the plans I had were never actually in His plans. (Now that will preach!) 

27th
Photo by: Alexa Rae Studio

This past year has brought so much healing and fulfillment parallel to the year before. During my 26th year of life, I learned how to let go and move on – the right way. I learned how to love my friends well, and I’m even getting better at receiving love, too. I learned that a job nor a title will never define me, and that no job nor career is secure. I traveled and saw places that I have dreamed about since I was younger. I learned new corny jokes, went on a few dates, helped start and co-found a ministry, and shared countless memories with friends that will forever be testaments of God’s faithfulness in my life.

And now, as I turn another year older, I sit here in hopeful wonder at the “immeasurably more” that I am believing lies ahead. Another year of possible fires, but more so, definite growth and refining. Another year where God shows me over and over again that His ways are higher and better than mine. Another year of deeper relationships and new friendships. Another year of professional growth and deeper commitment. And another year of learning to be faithful in every little detail of my heart, soul, mind, and body.

As I go into this next year, I am less bound by a plan and more bound to a purpose. A purpose to see, do, love, enjoy, and become all that God has for me. And honestly, truly let this year – be a golden one.

Cheers to 27, thanks for joining me on the journey.

XOXO

jess

One thought on “The Golden One – 27 on the 27th

Leave a Reply

