The Golden One

 

october

HAPPY OCTOBER, EVERYONE!

The fact is, October is my favorite month. Not just because it was the month that God chose for me to be born, but because all things lovely come with its arrival. (Minus Halloween – it’s my least favorite holiday.)

70’s weather in Texas – which already should ensue celebration, leaves changing, harvest happening, food cooking, and PSL a-drinkin’ – yeah, I know. I should be a poet already, I know it.

But you want to know the best part about this month for me?

Reflecting and Restarting. 

Most people do this in January, or even at the end of December. Not me, my “new year” begins October 27th. It’s the year that my own life starts anew.

I don’t know how many years I’ll have on this planet, but every October I’m reminded that I’m closer to have finished and completed another full year of life. What a gift.

Last year, I wrote this blog (Officially 26) to commemorate all I had learned in my 25 years of life, and more so – what I hoped to continue to learn in my 26th year of life. I re-read this and with a smile on my face, was able to thank God wholeheartedly for the work He has done in my life. The things that were only a beginning work in me – are now a full-fledged testimony. He really does do what He says He will do, my friends. If that is all you get from this blog – then please, don’t ever forget that.

Anyways – a few months ago, someone randomly asked when my birthday was. I told them (gladly, because I love birthdays), and they said – oh, it’s your golden birthday.

I will be honest, before this moment I had never even heard of such a thing – but instantly fell in love with the idea. And over the past couple months, I’ve been praying and thinking about my current season and where I feel God is taking me. While doing this, I couldn’t help but put golden into my prayers and ask God what “HE wanted my golden year to be about.”

gold; something considered to be precious, beautiful, or of the most superior quality

And there it was, where most words find their purpose, inside the definition was the perfect explanation for what I feel God is bringing.

  1. Precious – relationships and memories
  2. Beautiful – moments and adventures
  3. Superior Quality – refining character and increasing in knowledge 

In one definition, God gave me a prayer list – maybe even prophetic of sorts – to pray over this upcoming 27th year of my life. But, if I’ve learned anything in the 25 years and 11 months I’ve been alive, it’s this – don’t go too fast. 

So, today I don’t write a long blog to say all the things I learned in my 26th year on this earth – no, this year is and will be different. Over the next 27 days I will blog more than usual and share with you the victorious stories of my life. Though within them they will tell of painful times – the concentration of the post will be to give glory where glory and honor is due – Jesus Christ, the real ‘golden’ one

My life has been forever changed because of His work in my life and my friends, I so very much want the same for you. So, I will share with you different topics where I have received victory and where I’m continuing to claim victory everyday, even though I haven’t seen it just yet.

All because, His victorious work in my life is the most precious, beautiful, and superior quality of a blog that I could ever write. And that’s how I intend to start this year – proclaiming the ‘golden’ one who saved a girl meant for statistics, into a woman determined to live to shine like Christ.

I introduce to you, #TheGoldenOne – a blog series featuring the tales of the victorious, refined life of yours truly.

I hope you’ll join me in celebrating. Grab your PSL, pull up a chair, and let’s get this thing started.

 

xoxo

jess

2 thoughts on “The Golden One

Leave a Reply

