Begin Again

“Author says change emphasizes what is happening TO us while transition emphasizes opportunity for growth within.”
― William Bridges

D.R. Horton Tower - Sundance Square  Fort Worth, Texas
D.R. Horton Tower – Sundance Square
Fort Worth, Texas

At this point in my 26 years of life, I find myself (almost daily) thinking – “I just didn’t think I would be ‘here’ at 26.” It’s a thought, that almost instantaneously after I have thought it, I think – “Well, where did you think you would be?”

Can you relate? 

Growing up we are constantly imagining this life we “might” live one day. Whether that is the white picked fence,  “Honey, I’m home” lifestyle or the CEO, marathon running, world traveling luxury lifestyle kind of life. We all grew up fantasizing about something – whether to be a doctor or a lawyer, be the world’s greatest Mom or Dad, or even owning your own company.

It’s “Dream Big” and “Reach for the Sky” mantra they pour into us in high school and even in the first couple years of college. And then, all of a sudden, somewhere along the lines – we stop dreaming, and start living. Making ends meet, routines, deadlines, bill schedules, holidays, and the occasional (maybe most people) weddings and special occasions become what our lives revolve around. It’s like we stop trying to move up, because we’re just trying to move around successfully. Why do you think #MondayMotivation has become so popular – after a while, we have forgotten the mantra of our youth. (I know I’m young, but it sounded better that way.)

And I will admit, that was my plan. Two years ago – all I craved was a routine, stability, and for all intensive purposes, my life to be somewhat ‘normal’ for a change. And then 2014 came and nothing about my life was stable – let alone, normal. Going into 2015, what I thought was going to be a year of focusing on paying off student loans, all changed again in June 2015. Within two weeks I didn’t have two jobs, and I didn’t know if in August if I would even have one.

It’s the story of our lives, really. The plans we make never really end up the way we planned. And as believers, I don’t think they ever will.

“Many are the plans in a persons heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” Proverbs 19:21

So, here I am – on my last day at Sheplers and in 3 days, I’ll be crossing the DFW metro area into the land of Fort Worth, Texas. A city though 30 minutes from me for the last 7 years, I have never lived nor really explored. I’ll be the newest member of the digital marketing team with D.R. Horton. It’s a job, and a story, that only God could have designed. In all of His miraculous wonders, went before me and provided a job, a position, and a pay that was Ephesians 3:20 kind of good. He made a way where there seemed to be no way. I can’t tell you I’ll be in this position forever, actually I can’t even tell you I’ll be there longer than a week (actually has happened) – but what I can tell you is, that if God is transitioning you – it’s not bad, it’s good. I love this quote I found up top – “transition emphasizes opportunity for growth within.”

Growth within.

I don’t know if Mr. Bridges was a Christian, but this quote pretty much defines the process of sanctification. According to biblestudytools.com,

sanctification is defined; to set a person or thing apart for the use intended by its designer.

Our designer is God and He has purposed in us all to do something. Whatever that is, sanctification is the process to set us apart to do that very thing. So you remember when I rambled above about how we stop dreaming to live? I think this is why we do it. Our bodies are craving purpose and stability – but really, the only thing that will create this in us, is the very thing we dread doing. Transition was never meant to be dreaded, but actually – anticipated. He’s called us to continually sanctify ourselves, to set ourselves apart – and the only way we can do that is by choosing to follow where He leads. And friends, for some of you that might mean staying exactly where you are. In my experiences, contentment will most always precede transition. 

So, as I begin again, I take heart knowing that the lesson God had for me at Sheplers must be complete – otherwise, He wouldn’t be moving me. And I choose to walk into D.R. Horton with a new perspective, a fresh glimpse of what His faithfulness and provision looks like, and a belief that there is some nugget of goodness for my life that only can be found where I am going.

So, as my blogs have been sort of an alter of God’s goodness in the past – here’s another one.

“Thank you, Lord for the grace and mercy you had on me to provide Sheplers for the season it was necessary. Thank you that no matter where I go, I am stable and home with you. That no matter how many different times you move me – that I would never stop ‘growing within.’ And anytime a circumstance comes and the storm rises, that it’s your faithfulness in my present that will keep me full of faith, hope, and joy in my future.”

Let’s begin again, shall we?

Goodbye, Sheplers. Hello, D.R. Horton. Goodbye, Grapevine. Hello, Fort Worth.

xoxo,

jess

“and whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus – gives thanks to God the Father.” Colossians 3:17

Leave a Reply

