Why Transition is Troubling

Transition isn’t a mythical circumstance or a “could happen” to me at any moment type of situation – no, it’s been the constant theme for the last two years of my life. And if I really examine it (which I don’t prefer doing) it’s been the last decade of my life.

But me telling you why this is my life won’t help you with transition in yours. But Jesus will.

“We plan the way we want to live, but only God makes us able to live it.” -Proverbs 16:9

A verse that God continues to whisper through countless groans of “unanswered prayers” or my “interrupted plans.” A verse that shows me time and time again, that I can make as many to-do lists, budgets, and schedule as many plans as I want – but the only way these things will come to pass is if God makes them able to. Because only when we rely on our flesh

This might be the hard part for some of you – loosening the reigns of control and allowing God to change your plans to His passions for your life. Or the rearranging of your schedule for a day for a purpose bigger than you can see, but it in the process you feel discombobulated and out of sorts. Hit a nerve, anyone? Yeah, I thought it might because I can relate – those were hard for me too. And I say “were”, because God took care of most of those in the midst of my past transitions. But still, even though I know the truth, during these moments of doubt, frustration, and confusion – I still found myself questioning God.

God, wait – I thought this is what you wanted from me? 

God, where are you taking me now? I don’t think I can do this…again?

God, WHAT IS HAPPENING? 

And every time, He’s given me Proverbs 16 to go and just soak up to remind my heart + my spirit that He has a plan and His is the one I really should trust in.

So, as you can see, I’ve seen the troublesome side of transition. Because that is what I did, I focused on the trouble I felt it was causing me (or could cause), instead of the lesson He was trying to teach me. And maybe that is where you find yourself too? Your perspective is blurred with troubles and not the lessons.

So, why this blog now? Well – because I find myself at transition station yet again. But this time I was sure – sure that I would be where I was for at least two years. And I was set. Fully set – my finances were finally coming together, I had two stable jobs, I was learning to balance community and limited time. I was helping launch a ministry and I even went on vacation. And then, it all changed.  8 months later. Not two years – 8 months. With one packet, my world changed. And I was shocked. But honestly – I wasn’t as much as most would think. Why? Well, a few months ago I started feeling it. During a quiet time with the Lord, and with a sigh – one more of surrender than control this time (I have learned SOME things) – He spoke, while I listened:

“Transition is coming, Jess.”

And there is was. The immediate word that changes everything. Changes how you think, pray, wait, and converse. One word from God really does change everything. I started seeing him take away + give, release + spur towards, let go + release fear to take a step forward. And this was a few months ago. What a gracious God, right? Like before the transition even was visible, He made a way where my heart could be ready for it. But what I thought was coming – didn’t. And what I thought would be going away – is more than staying. God sure does have a lovely sense of humor. Can I get an, Amen? 🙂

In all of this – there is a reason you chose this blog to read. And I bet it wasn’t because my title was so catchy? 😉 It’s because you find yourself somewhere in this process alongside me.

1) Maybe you realize now that God is getting you ready for the transition, but you’re fighting the doubts and thoughts of troubles that ‘could’ come? The constant ‘what ifs’ and ‘hows’ and ‘whens.’ They come like the flood and you don’t have Noah to help a sister or brother out. So you begin to drown. Drown in the depths of your own flesh. Because only when we rely on our flesh do we really drown during transition. We can’t do this alone. Maybe you need to read the verse above again…

“We plan the way we want to live, but only God makes us able to live it.” -Proverbs 16:9

Only God makes us able, my friends. Only He can give warning to our hearts for transition.

2.) Maybe you’re already in transition. And you’re having to choose everyday to get in the boat of hope, and not drown in hopelessness, doubt, or despair. I get you – and my friend, you are not alone. The fight against our flesh isn’t an easy battle – that is why we have the power of the Holy Spirit inside of us. None of us can do this by our flesh. In our flesh we drown – in His spirit we thrive. Don’t give way to the flood – get in the boat. I promise the boat is going somewhere you want to be. And when you get there, you realize all the water you thought was trouble – was actually nourishment to the fruit He was trying to grow inside of you. The flood is actually the answered prayer to the fruit you’ve been praying to grow in. 

So today, whatever transition you are going through…

New job

Motherhood/Fatherhood

Relationship to singleness

Singleness to relationship

New city

New community

….may you remain steadfast in the boat of hope and not focus on the possible troubles of the transition – but learn the lessons while in the midst of it; so that when it’s over, all that remains is the ripened fruit that was God’s intention all along.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

And if He can overcome the world, don’t you think He is able to overcome your transition? I think so too.

xoxo

jess

Leave a Reply

