deja vu…

“When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.”

Harriet Beecher Stowe

It wasn’t “deja vu,” because I didn’t question if this had happened before – I knew it had.

Two weeks ago I had one job, a professional mentor telling me about another, and then, all within a week, my entire professional life took a drastic (unforeseen) turn. Most of you know my love for Texas and all things country – but what I didn’t know, was that one day my passions and talents could somehow collide. But God did.

On Monday, November 17th I will begin (yet again) a new chapter, this time at Sheplers, Inc. Why do I tell you this – why do I announce to the world what has happened? Well, because I want to.  I don’t have to by any means. But honestly, I want you to read it. I want you to know that though my blog may be full of what might seem great stories of lessons learned and encouraging words (and believe me, those are ALL from my heart) – that most importantly, what I never want to be forgotten is, I’m just like you. We’re similar – we both fall, we say things we shouldn’t, we don’t always make the greatest decisions, and sometimes life just happens – but you know what? God still is better, bigger, and more than any mistake and/or any life altering change. Even if those things happen to occur more than you would like in a one year span. But as I said, I don’t write this just for me – but honestly, that wherever you are, that this may help you believe what God did for me – He will and is fully able to do for you.

“They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony..” Revelation 12:11

I didn’t look for this change – this change found me. This was all done by God. Though there have been multiple lessons learned and my mistakes are in no way accepted by God – they are though, fully forgiven and now, being redeemed. What I know now more than ever (even more after this past week), is that this is and all of that was apart of the bigger picture.

tumblr_liwlszIfYm1qcirk4o1_500

What would be opposite of the bigger picture? You guessed it – the smaller picture. This picture points out current (in your face) dilemmas and present reminders of past failed attempts, possible unpaid bills, emotional damage, and the constant voice of the enemy telling me everything I can’t, won’t, and shouldn’t do. So yes, I know what it looks like on my resume – and believe me, I tried to remind the Lord of that too. But you know what He (ever so lovingly) reminded me of? God’s promotions have never and will never be based on my physical resume, but yet – based on the position of my heart.

For those who only see my professional resume or for the 21st Century – my friends, family, and professional network – my social media updates, you might see me as one who has had three job changes in one year and two (by the State of Texas) terminations. You might take those and view me as less than or question what could be wrong with me – and honestly, I don’t blame you; because that is exactly what I was tempted to do.

 But then God…out of His rich mercy and abounding grace reminded me that though my resume may read failure, my heart has never felt more accomplished. And you know what? Instead of looking at what went wrong, God showed me what He has made right. Instead of letting the bad overtake the good – I thanked God for His abundant provision in spite of what seemed (from my perspective) like an unforeseen heartache. God truly took what the enemy meant for bad – and made it for good. (Gen. 50:20)

Therefore, I will begin again. (To quote the ever so lovely, T-Swift) I can’t lie to you and say it doesn’t hurt and to be in the fog with the Lord’s current plan for my life isn’t and wasn’t hard; but I will tell you, I really and truly from the bottom of my heart believe, it’s all gonna be worth it. So, wherever you are, friends – don’t give up. Run your race, if you take a few detours to get to where God wants you to go – don’t worry about it. Don’t let the fear of man keep you from opening up and telling your story. Each of you matter – and however God uses you to give Him glory – it’s meant to be known.

Thankfully, deja vu is over and this is reality. Onto the next adventure…

xoxo

jess

P.s. Rita Springer sings this song, “Worth It All” – and it couldn’t have been more perfectly placed into my “random” Spotify radio listening pleasures this past week. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

