When It’s Time To Let Go

They say you know. They say when you meet that person you are supposed to spend forever with, you just know…

For the last two years I have held onto a promise that I know was from the Lord. All the specifics have never been there, but the faith to hold on was. I don’t understand the whys, the hows, or the whens – but what I do know for the first time in my life is that I don’t have to know anymore.

It is one of the hardest parts about faith to me. Having to trust that even if God is leading you into the wilderness, that he has a road to get you out.

“Do not remember the former things, Nor consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing, Now it shall spring forth; Shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness, And rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:18-19 

As much as you are supposed to know when it is the one – I believe you also know when, it’s not.

It takes courage to let go what you have believed for so long to be true. It takes faith to believe that what God has said has a purpose – even if the end purpose doesn’t turn out the way you thought it would. It takes humility to admit when you are wrong and that though God will use it for good – all the things you might have believed were not necessarily from God.

In our world the last thing we want to admit is that we are wrong – but the first thing we want to accept is that we could be right. It’s a constant battle of what if’s and usually ends in months of a trivial pursuit to find something we were never supposed to go looking for.

So, maybe I was wrong. But, God isn’t.

This promise. This promise that started on February 1st, 2013 is one that will forever be remembered as the promise that changed me. The promise that changed who I thought I was, into who I now know God has called me to be. The promise that gave me a purpose bigger than I ever let myself dream, and showed me that God is faithful – even when I am not. This promise that didn’t make any sense to anyone, and through hours of quiet devotion and prayer – gave me a glimpse into the spirit realm that I had never had before. This promise that will forever be apart of my story, my legacy, and my future.

But for now, it’s time to let it go. Yes, the song may be famous for the lyrics – but Paul made it famous long before Elsa did:

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:12-14 ESV)

So, here is to a new beginning. And I don’t think it’s any coincidence that it is August 1st. The 8th month. 8, the number of new beginnings. You can’t begin anew without letting go of what will never be. And it might. Because frankly, God can do whatever He wants.

But for now, I know it’s time. I don’t want to miss out on anything else because I became comfortable in the unknown. I want to see all God has for me – but I knew that I needed to know it was time before I could let go. And today, that time came. It won’t be easy, but what I have learned in my 25 years on earth is the hardest things in life reap the most beautiful harvest.

Here’s to reaping a new harvest – to new promises – to believing – to humility – to love.

Yes, here’s to love.

They say you know. They say when you meet that person you are supposed to spend forever with, you just know…

 

One thought on “When It’s Time To Let Go

Leave a Reply

