Here’s to Leaping

transition; the process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another.

“This is what the past is for! Every experience God gives us, every person He puts in our lives is the perfect preparation for the future that only He can see.” -Corrie ten Boom

Only God can see what is next. Only God knows where I will be, who I will be working with, and the characteristics and skills He will have me learning and doing in this next season.

What I do know, though it’s not much, is I am not leaving the same person from when I came here. Gateway Church was not where I thought the first half of this year would begin – or that the position I held, once I held it, would end this quickly. But yet, it did.

Why are you reading this blog? Well, most of you if you have made it this far have gone through a similar season. A season of transition. A season where, as far as we know, everything around us is shifting. Whether you are in a job change as well, or a personal one – it all feels the same.

Times of doubt and worry are surpassed again by reminding yourself of God’s faithful promises and the truth that He will make a way where there seems to be no way. Times where tears are replaced by a bitter-sweet smile of goodbye and laughter somehow finds its way back into moments of sadness. Times when God clearly gives you direction quickly, then has you wait patiently for longer than you would like. Times when your heart and flesh feel weak, but somehow, your spirit has never felt stronger. Times of hurt and pain, but also of joy and gain.

I see you, and so does He. He hasn’t forgotten you and He hasn’t forgotten me.

“In my desperation I prayed, and the LORD listened; he saved me from all my troubles.” Psalm 34:6

God has a plan, and it’s perfect. It’s always on time and never without goodness attached as an addendum. It’s immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine, so that is why our say or point of view is not needed – for He created both of those so He knows what we need more than we do.

This blog is written in hopes of meeting you where you are, but also clearing up that in fact, this transition for me is a choice. A choice of doing what I have been saying. A choice of putting God in the spotlight to work a miracle that no one can argue with. A choice of obedience over comfort, and His will over my plans. It may not seem like a ‘sane’ or ‘healthy financial’ choice to some – but to the ones who need to see it, will in fact see what it’s intent is. It is in no way pointing to me as being a “fanatically oversaved Christian,” but in fact pointing to the one who deserve to have someone love Him as He has so faithfully loved me. He gave His all so I can live, so I give my all so I can live for Him.

In this season, there might be times where you feel God directing you to pray for someone or something else in your life. Don’t push away this, it’s God. Sometimes in the midst of transition our situation can bring light to a new perspective. For example, I have never prayed for stability more in my life. Honestly, hadn’t at all until now. In the last two weeks I have prayed more for my future husband, marriage, and family than I ever have in my life. Why? I have no idea. But what I do know is that it has given me the perspective, that for some reason, God wants me to have. And honestly, it takes my focus off of what I don’t have, onto what I will have.

God doesn’t play games, and from what a friend so wisely said recently, ‘He never arbitrarily does anything.’ It’s all for a purpose. The process is a purpose, and transition only moves you from one stepping stone to the other.

So, my foot is in the air – actually, both feet after today. I’m jumping from one stone to the other – though I have no idea where/what or even how that stone will come. It’s a matter of faith, but also in courage of realizing I cannot live my life without following the One who gave me this life in the first place. I want it all – and I can only receive it all, if I am willing to give it all up.

It’s probably only one of a million leaps of faith I will take in this life – so here’s to leaping. May you leap for whatever God has for you and believe that what He does have will come, and it will be oh so good.

XOXO

Jess

One thought on “Here’s to Leaping

  1. Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Psalm 119:105 ESV

    Faith is trusting God even when the lamp barely illuminates our toes. Check out Jason Gray’s new album; I think it could be your soundtrack to this new chapter.

    http://jasongraymusic.com

Leave a Reply

