Looking Back – 2013

2012: Last Post

“I woke up this morning and the Lord told me to read Jeremiah 29:11, and naturally I was like Lord I already know that verse. He then said, read the verse before it.

“This is what the Lord says: When seventy years are completed…” vs. 10

The famous verse we quote consistently at the end and beginning of new chapters for hope was a promise that would come to pass only AFTER 70 YEARS. Our timing looks nothing like God’s timing. May we look to 2013 as a year of faith and trust that no matter what the present looks like, God is always working behind the scenes. 

“For I know the plans I have for you says the Lord, Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

________________________________________________________

2013: The List

love8.27
The Toast to 2013

I don’t think I had any idea what 2013 would look like. I knew that God would use it to change the course of my life and give me a perspective like I had never known – but in no way could I have projected the level of change I would endure and the perspective that would be given to me.

God knew. He knew what was ahead, just like He knows what is ahead for 2014. 

I have put together a list of 2013 Highlights below. It is definitely not all of the hard, the ugly, or the amazing and beauty of this year – but I hope that in December of 2014 I will be able to look at this list and be even more thankful for all that is to come – because of what I was able to do and become in 2013. 

  1. I changed my hair to blonde..again
  2. February 1st, 2013 changed my life forever
  3. Moved in with Carly W.
  4. I traded Pistol in for Priss – a Smart Car
  5. I lost – AND – gained friends
  6. I worked part time at Palm Beach Tan
  7. I met Carly E. – a forever friend
  8. I surprised my mom for the weekend
  9. Priss broke down 5 times and I got to drive a Mercedes Benz C Class for 2 weeks
  10. I went on a Mission trip in Honduras
  11. Went to 6 weddings
  12. Decorated Holly’s Birthday dinner at BJ’s
  13. I gave my testimony to 2000 men in a Honduran prison
  14. I went to two Generate nights of Worship at Gateway Church
  15. I worked part time with/for Michael Jr. Comedy
  16. I saw Scotty McCreery, Luke Bryan, and Josh Abbott Band in concert
  17. I made A LOT mistakes 
  18. Learned A LOT of valuable life lessons
  19. I lost weight
  20. Was and continue to be mentored by two amazing ladies, Brittany and Leah
  21. I gained some weight back
  22. I ran two 5k’s
  23. Went to see Rob Howe in his Improv show
  24. My sister and I spent 4 days together without arguing
  25. I saw my Nana and Poppee twice in one year
  26. Uncle Andy went to be with Jesus
  27. I celebrated my year with Splash Media
  28. Mom learned to text and started texting ‘Goodnight’ ever night before bed
  29. Cody Allen, Meredith Andrews, Chris August, and Josh Abbott all tweeted me
  30. I had to tell a really embarrassing story at a meeting at Splash
  31. I went to Houston to visit Sam for the weekend
  32. I got a beautiful Fossil watch for my birthday from Mom
  33. I turned 25 and had my birthday party at a kids trampoline center – I was the oldest ‘birthday girl’ there by 20 years. 
  34. I had a few crushes
  35. Started babysitting twins
  36. My heart was broken – but then mended
  37. I tripped and fell on a treadmill
  38. Holly Graduated college
  39. I got the job with RuffleButts
  40. Finally – truly believed I was all He says I am

______________________________________________

2014: The Challenge

What I have learned more than anything this year – through all of the above – is that God uses each and every  moment of our lives to shape us into the men and women we are meant to be. I have no doubt that 2014 will bring new challenges and new miracles – and because of 2013, I will be more able to receive them, better equipped to carry them out and make wiser decisions because of my successes and failures, use whatever God does to share about Him more and BOLDLY, and I am praying, continue to love like He has loved me – without need of return. 

I am so thankful for 2013 and the places I got to see, the people I was able to meet, the family I was able to love, and the memories I will forever hold dear and near to my heart. 

May we all love more, and worry less in 2014.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Love,

Jess

 

 

 

One thought on “Looking Back – 2013

Leave a Reply

