The 3 W’s of Vision

My heart for you in this blog is that you would open your heart to believe, trust, and wait. Believe that God has a vision for your life, trust that He is working all these things together for your good, and wait for His timing and not pursue your own agenda. 

WHO: God & Us

GOD

A vision of purpose is always a vision from the Lord. God deems us worthy enough to die for us – so why would He ever leave us without a purpose.

Purpose + Vision = His Will + Destiny = Legacy

We are ALL created with a purpose. Each of us were paid with an eternal and abundant love that can not be explained, but is freely given. When God gave me my purpose, I was 17. He spoke into my life claiming that I would be an evangelist, a speaker, a teacher, a prophet. Though I didn’t understand how on any of those areas – that purpose was still placed on my life. BUT that was not the beginning. God knew from the moment my mother’s, mother’s, mother was born that one October day in 1988, I would be born. He knew that through me lives could be changed, prophecy could be spoken, and His will would be put into motion. It all started with Him  and it always, always starts with Him.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” John 1:1

US

You and I are next. Once God designed and formed us before whatever sense of time He goes by don’t I wish I knew, He knew He would have to tell us. He speaks. This is important. So many people in my generation have such a hard time believing that God speaks – maybe because they were brought up in a church that didn’t teach this. I don’t know, but what I do know is that I pray it is shouted throughout my life. HE STILL SPEAKS. There have been moments in my life where my purpose was tested. God tested me to see if I would be willing to lay down what I thought my purpose SHOULD be and pick up what my purpose WILL be. There is a difference. When you believe that God is in control of your life and you truly want a relationship with Him for His will to be done and not yours – everything changes. The desires you once had for your life disappear in the light of His revelation, wisdom, and guidance. You start to realize your gifts and talents are not just for the pleasure of being talented or good at something – but were given to you for a purpose.  purpose1

WHY: Them & Us 

THEM

It’s not about us. If you don’t see that illustrated through the selfless life of Jesus, then let me try and paint a modern day picture. When firefighters are running into a burning building , is their purpose to save themselves? When a doctor preps for surgery and washes his hands countless time (Grey’s Anatomy anyone?), is his purpose to heal himself? No. Those are obvious metaphors to a very complicated truth. Many times, especially in our culture and society, we think the object of any vision or purpose is…us. It is not. God has designed us all uniquely for a purpose to not help ourselves, but to help them. Who is them? Them is your best friend, the girl you mentor, the boy you encourage, the guy friend who has become your brother, the barista at Starbucks, the checker at Kroger…I think you get it. It is not us, it is them. It is about God’s call on your life to be able to help them. To find the lost, to love on the hurt, to comfort the sick, and to provide for the poor. God has sent you – us – as His earthly, spiritual firefighters and surgeons. Many we meet everyday are in search for help from the fires of their lives or in deep longing for a healing beyond anything they believe is possible. And that is it my friends, what they believe is possible. It is our job, and our longing as Christians, to be instruments for God to do the impossible. 

What does this mean for us? 

US

We are to believe that the impossible is, in fact, possible. As sons and daughters of the King of Kings, we have to believe in the provision of the 5,000 with ten loaves, and the parting of the seas, and the possibility of God speaking through bushes. The impossible things to us are even more unbelievable to those who do not know. Any vision God gives will be one that looks impossible. He will make it to where there is no absolute way you or anyone else could have conceived that vision by human eyes, hands, or finances. It is always something that looks, by our eyes, out of our reach. And that my friends, is because it is. It is for the reason (here it is, the why) because If we were able to do it on our own, why would we need Jesus, why would ‘them’ need Jesus, and most of all, why would we have been ‘purposed’ at the beginning of time in the first place? God made us with a purpose because first and always, He loves us with an unwavering, undeserving, irreplaceable love that goes beyond any impossible vision. The impossible visions that we believe in are what make it possible for God’s vision to take place – more children running home to the Father.

WHEN: Us

The hardest part in my current season is this question. God has worked out the other areas of my life through my earlier years to my recent trip to Honduras. Showing me a perspective that is unlike anything I have ever experienced – His. He showed me what ‘them’ looked like through His eyes and even in this gave me the confidence to finally fall in love with the one person He has been wanting to show me for so long – myself. He gave me a glimpse into how He sees me – and oh my sweet tea, that changed everything about my walk with Him. Loving ourselves is one of the hardest walls to break and mountains to climb, it takes falling in repentance and humility, BUT then standing in HIS righteousness and joy.

So, after all of this God has given me a vision. What is this vision? You will one day see. But my friends, I write this blog not because it has come to pass, but because I BELIEVE it will. I believe that God will use this vision He has given me to not only change my life, but most importantly, change the lives of millions.

Now you might be thinking, Jess, that is a bold statement – millions? Well, yes. I believe that our generation needs to stand up and SPEAK that God can do the impossible. Sometimes, the impossible to ‘them’ will not be that big of a deal, but to you, your faith will be multiplied. God does that you know. Sometimes, just because He does love us so very much, He brings us confirmations that are not for anyone else, but just for us. There is no time limit to the will of God, because since He is the ‘Author of Time,’ there will never be the buzzer to say ‘time is up,’ that He has not ordained. If a buzzer does go off in your vision, it means God has something else in store. It doesn’t mean that all of what you heard, saw, lived was not worth it – but that whatever you went through was necessary for whatever you will go through. He is faithful. He is just. He is the Beginning and the End. The King of Kings and Lord of Lords. The Daddy to the fatherless. The Healer to the sick. The Jehovah Jireh to the needy. The Lover to all.

You remember this (Purpose + Vision = His Will + Destiny = Legacy), well all of your purpose and visions will equal an extraordinary legacy. This life was never meant to take anything with us, but leave it all behind. As you believe that God can do the impossible in your life and those around you, as you walk through doors that the human mind hasn’t even had time to build yet, and as you speak into existence the very destiny and identity of God on your life – you will reap the rewards of leaving it all for the sake of the cross.

“What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ.” Philippians 3:8 

CONCLUSION

My friends, I genuinely love each and every one of you. My heart breaks for those of you searching, those of you reading these words and them still falling into an emptiness that you can’t describe. I want you to know, that I have been there. I see you. I see your heart where it is at, and I want you to know, you were made for a purpose. God has a vision for your life. It has not expired and you are not too far gone (or dirty) to partake in this. He is waiting, with open arms, first wanting to restore you, refill you, and then, use you. You are His and He is yours. Forever. That is what every vision is rooted in – the belonging nature of Jesus Christ.

You are loved. You are wanted. You are purposed. And now, I pray, you see that the Who is all that matters, the Why will never be totally understandable, and the When is in the hands of our Author.

Don’t worry, He has you. He will bring all things together for your good. Now, isn’t that good news?

(Here are a few verses God has given me during this season of envisioning that I pray encourage you as much as they have me.)

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.” Proverbs 16:9 

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who[a] have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8

“For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.” Habakkuk 2:3 (My current favorite!) 

Leave a Reply

