I Don’t Want to Wait Anymore…

“Worrying is carrying tomorrow’s load with today’s strength- carrying two days at once. It is moving into tomorrow ahead of time. Worrying doesn’t empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.” -Corrie ten Boom

It seems we are all waiting on something. Waiting for the next assignment, the next job, the next weekend, the next deadline, the next…

When do we stop waiting on ‘the next’ and start living in the ‘now?’ 

This question has haunted me the last few days after reading a blog titled “I don’t wait anymore…” and in it she conquers the lie of the “True Love Waits” generation that tries to wait for a spouse to come to start living the life God has called us to live. Whilst working, I always wonder what God has in store for me next. My whole life I have been living to try and work and work until that ‘next something’ arrived.

My whole life I have been waiting… 

For someone to love me. 

For someone to tell me I was good enough

For my bank account account to be big enough to give a little more.

For a man to come and show me that I was worthy of all the things God had promised me in marriage. 

To be an inspiration to girls who have struggled with abuse. 

For those I loved to be healed.

For the moment when the ‘why’s’ in my life stopped. 

Waiting…

But just as that blog title summed it up – I don’t want to wait…

For someone to love me – when God said He loved me enough to send His son to die for my sons and then rise on the third day to set me apart as victorious. (John 3:16)

For someone to tell me I am good enough – when God says that I am fearfully and wonderfully made and that I was created and He knew me and approved of me before I was even in my mother’s womb. (Psalm 139)

For their to be more money in my bank account – when God says that He will meet ALL my needs according to His riches and glory. (Philippians 4:19)

For a man to show up for me to finally feel my worth – when God says that I am worthy of His calling and can approach His throne with confidence and He will give me what I need. (Hebrews 4:16)

To be an inspiration – when God said that He has equipped me to run this race with perseverance, now. (Hebrews 12)

For others to be healed – when God said that He is working all things together for MY good. (Romans 8:28)

For the answers to the why’s – when God said that no matter what I do that I am called to do it for the glory of God and I do not answer for any other but my own. (2 Corinthians 10:31)

I don’t want to wait anymore…

So today, in the midst of the rising storm, I declare these scriptures over my life. That my heart and soul and love for God Almighty gives me the strength to say I am not waiting for the ‘next’ any longer because I am preparing for the ‘next’ by living in the ‘now.’

The things that I listed above are not ‘bad’ things to wait on – they are truly the desires of my heart. I long for the day when I will meet the man has specifically set apart to be my husband and for us to be even stronger together than we ever were apart. I long for the day when my story can be screamed from a stage so that others may know the fullness and healing that only God alone can bring. I long for the day when there will be no more trying to understand the why’s because I know the answer – and this answer will only be given in Heaven. BUT just because I long for those things, does not mean I am to miss out on the glorious mercies that are new EVERY morning, not just on the morning of those days of fulfillment. 

“This is what the past is for! Every experience God gives us, every person He puts in our lives is the perfect preparation for the future that only He can see.” – Corrie ten Boom

I pray you sing a new song of joy today as you analyze your heart and lay it before God and be honest with Him. Yell at Him your frustrations, I promise, He can take it. Tell Him the desires of your heart, and yes, He knows them, but do you? Show Him your love for Him by loving those around you and most of all be still and just know that He is God. He waited a long long time to save many through His Son, and now He asks us to not wait, but long, hope, and endure for the sake of His Kingdom

dancing

The storms are never easy, the waves are not always soft and gentle, but I promise the Sun always shines new every morning despite the storm through the night. Hold on, and may you be encouraged to live more and wait less.

Leave a Reply

