He Loves Me Anyway – The Samaritan Woman and Me

Two weeks ago I surprised my mom for a weekend. That Sunday the preacher spoke about the Samaritan Woman.

This last weekend, when my mom came to visit, Pastor Morris spoke about the Samaritan Woman.

Today, Proverbs 31 Devotion that I read spoke about the Samaritan Woman.

“Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

You think God is trying to get something across to me?

I wonder what her name was? In today’s devotional from Proverbs 31, she named her Sam (short for Samaritan), but I can’t wait to really meet her, and know her name. When that happens, I will tell her how God used her story to change my life. How her experience at the well took my experience in life to a whole new level.

 SIDENOTE: I love this picture of them – the artist wasn’t there, but do you see the desperation in her expression and the kindness and gentleness of the Giver of all things pure, joyful, and kind?

christ-samaritan-woman-at-well-living-water-simon-dewey-3She went to the well at noon, to escape the ridicule and shameful looks of all the other women, how many times do we do that? How many times have we shamefully hid our sin and destructed inner selves because of the looks of others and the opinions that others have about us? I have done it countless times.

She had 5 husbands. I don’t relate to this particularly, but I do relate to the root issue that I believe she struggled with — The seemingly inescapable trap of trying to fill an empty place in her heart with the attention and looks of men.

Those were her faults, her issues, her skeletons that she hid from the world and within a few moments at the well with her Savior, her faults, issues, and skeletons were lit up for all of her and Jesus to plainly and gently see.

He knew her.

Now, this is where God showed me I am the Samaritan Woman. As long as I can remember I have tried to hide my faults, my issues, and my skeletons so that no one could ever ‘know’ me. He is telling me that I can’t do that anymore – that is not the life He wants me to live. He took this story to let me know just as He did the woman at the well –

He knows me.

God recently showed me that I am in this opening process. Slowly each day that empty place in my heart is being filled by the lover of my soul. Slowly, I am beginning to allow others to love me as much as I truly love them. Love is the best healer. This love has started to permeate all that I do. I sing driving down the rode. I smile just because I can. I encourage just because I am overwhelmed with gratitude at what God has shown me and what He is continuing to change in me.

This story about this girl in Samaria will never be the same to me. It has come alive. I see her carrying the water and I see her running away with the living water fully nourishing her more than any man or friend ever could. I see her yelling about this man called Jesus who “knew all that she had done” and somehow, as Pastor Morris said, loved her anyway.

God loves me anyways. He loves everything about me. He loves my smile, my crazy lioness hair, my figure, my laugh, my love for corny jokes, and my love to share love for others.

This is me, running away from the well screaming saying “He knows all that I have EVER done, and yet, He loves me anyway.” 

He knows your too, and yes –  He loves you anyway!

Now, your turn – go scream it to someone else! 

One thought on “He Loves Me Anyway – The Samaritan Woman and Me

  1. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading
    it, you happen to be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog
    and will often come back at some point. I want to encourage continue your great job,
    have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

