A Friend, A Sister – Samantha Jo Berry

“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13 

sam

My heart is full. My soul is content. And then still my cup overflown.  I can’t begin to explain to each one of you the joy it is to have friends that simply make life better. They pick you up when you can’t seem to find the strength to keep going, they hold your hand when you keep trying to find someone to fill it, they take your tears and catch them with their open arms, and they simply are my better half. They teach me to never stop fighting, to never give up, to hold on even when everyone else and everything else seems to be letting go, and they have taught me how to live out unfailing love.

I have many of these women in my life. Their lives bring me joy and their friendships are my family. Today, one of these women took my breath away in the midst of my daily working routine. She has been there through thick and thin and no matter what has shown loving kindness in a way none will ever understand. She deserves far more than I could ever give her – but fortunately, God Almighty has a special plan for this woman that will be seen for generations. She inspires you to live better, she warms your heart with humor, and her determination to never give up encourages even the masses  Soon she will be known by many, but she will forever and always be one my best friends – my sister. She sent me this today and I can’t help but quote her and tell it to the world so that they may know what a true gem it is to find a friend such as you, Samantha Jo Berry.

Jess, I will always be here. One thing God has taught me in the past year is that some people are more than friends. They are literally our soulmates. And you’re one of them. You’ll stand with me at my wedding, be an aunt to my children, hold my hand through it all and I’ll do the same for you. You are one of my greatest blessings. I am good to you not because i’m some saint but because your existence has forever changed me. I don’t know another way to be than always supportive of you.

May you know how much you mean to me, not just because of this blog, but because of the way our lives continue to unfold. I will forever love you and forever be your cheerleader, encourager, and best friend.

sam2

“When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us, we often find that is is those who, instead of given much advice, solutions, or cures; have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a gentle and tender hand. The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in a hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing, not curing, not healing, and face with us the reality of our powerlessness, that is a friend who cares.” 

One thought on “A Friend, A Sister – Samantha Jo Berry

Leave a Reply

